Wednesday, October 1, 2008

About Us

Girl Scouts is reinvigorating its structure to make the most effective use of community resources and to deliver a superior Girl Scout Leadership Experience to even more girls in the area. The five presently existing councils in Arkansas are combining into a single council. The new council, Girl Scouts-Diamonds of Arkansas, Oklahoma and Texas will begin serving girls on October 1, 2008.

The new council will encompass all counties in Arkansas except Crittenden; will include Adair, Sequoyah and LeFlore counties in Oklahoma; and Cass and Bowie counties in Texas. While the geographic area of the council will change, the mission to build girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place, is unwavering. Council volunteers and staff remain fully committed to providing relevant and quality program opportunities for girls, and look forward to bringing the strengths of the NOARK, Mount Magazine, Conifer, Crowley’s Ridge, and Ouachita councils together for their benefit.

“We are excited about the opportunities this alignment presents,” said Debbie Jones, Little Rock, co- chair of the Council Realignment Committee. “It strengthens our position as a community-based organization and allows us to focus our efforts on working with girls to develop their leadership skills, connect with others, and take action to identify and address issues facing them and their communities.”

Through the new council, girls will explore outdoor and year-round program opportunities at the Council’s camps. Efforts to reach girls at risk will be expanded, and more resources will be allocated to provide programs and activities to girls who have not yet had the opportunity to experience Girl Scouting.

The organization’s larger territory will present more opportunities for volunteers and girls to work with and learn from girls and adults from diverse backgrounds.

Girl Scouts-Diamonds of Arkansas, Oklahoma and Texas will serve more than 18,000 girls and more than 6,800 adult members. The council’s administrative headquarters will be located in Little Rock.

No comments: